What if we automated one process step in production? What if we used twice as many employees for transport? What if ...? These scenarios can be tested in a virtual environment using business process simulation to come to a clear decision. The data situation is crucial for a reliable and well-founded process simulation. This is where process mining comes into play. Combing both disciplines – process mining and business process simulation – enables easier decision making and targeted improvements in business processes. But first: What is business process simulation and what is process mining?

Business Process Simulation

Business Process Simulation (BPS) refers to the simulation of the behavior of business processes within a virtual environment. The real processes are represented by a simulation model, a digital twin. Using this simulation, companies can test and visualize different scenarios to see how changes affect efficiency, resource utilization or other key performance indicators before they are implemented.

In the past, BPS simulation models were created manually using time-consuming process documentation, stopwatches and expert interviews. The problem with this is the many subjective influences that lead to distortion of the processes. In addition, this manual method cannot capture more complex processes, which in reality take place across a wide variety of departments, systems and locations.

The closer to reality the process simulation is, the more valuable it is. BPS is therefore now often combined with process mining technology, which objectively analyzes the current situation of business processes based on data. Process mining thus creates the necessary data basis for business process simulation.

Process Mining

Process mining is a technology for systematically analyzing and evaluating business processes with the aim of uncovering potential for improvement and implementing measures. Instead of recording process data manually, it is extracted from IT systems using event logs. The data basis is therefore objective and comprehensive, as all processes that run through various programs and systems are included.

Process mining can create a digital twin, in other words a virtual copy of an organization's real business processes. Through visualizations and key figures, process mining offers the possibility of discovering the actual processes, recognizing deviations from target processes and identifying inefficiencies and waste. The findings of these analyses can be used to make targeted improvements to processes to increase efficiency and save resources.

What is the difference between Process Mining and BPS?

Process mining generally has a backward-looking perspective, as historical data is extracted from the IT systems in order to understand the current as-is processes. The aim is to uncover inefficiencies and optimization potential.

Business process simulation, on the contrary, has a future-oriented perspective, as different future scenarios and their effects are simulated based on the current processes. The aim of these "what-if scenarios" is to make decisions more easily and reliably.

How do BPS and Process Mining work in combination?

The two disciplines fit together like two pieces of a puzzle and complement each other. Process mining as a framework provides the data basis and creates a digital twin. Various analyses can be used to identify optimization potential in business processes. This is where business process simulation comes in, simulating and testing how these potential changes affect the key figures of the business processes.

Business process simulation thus supplements process mining with a future-oriented perspective that enables companies to model, test and validate various scenarios based on the real findings obtained through process mining.

What if you could predict the future?

"What if" you knew how changes to processes due to external influences or adjustments would affect the output? You would be able to act proactively and simulate different scenarios and characteristics. A digital assistant would calculate all combinations and provide you with the answer to your what-if questions. Too good to be true? Fortunately not!

In our webinar on January 25, 2024, you will learn how mpmX in combination with Silico's Business Process Simulation platform enables you to model future scenarios and predict the impact of changes on process metrics. We warmly invite you to join us! Click here to register for the webinar.

Was wäre, wenn wir einen Prozessschritt in der Produktion automatisieren? Was wäre, wenn wir doppelt so viele Mitarbeiter für den Transport einsetzen? Was wäre, wenn …? Diese Szenarien lassen sich durch Business Process Simulation in einer virtuellen Umgebung austesten, um zu einer klaren Entscheidung zu kommen. Für eine verlässliche und fundierte Prozesssimulation ist die Datenlage entscheidend. Hier kommt das Process Mining ins Spiel. Beide Disziplinen vereint – Process Mining und Business Process Simulation – erlauben eine erleichterte Entscheidungsfindung und zielgerichtete Verbesserungen in Geschäftsprozessen. Aber jetzt eines nach dem anderen: Was ist Business Process Simulation und was ist Process Mining?

Business Process Simulation

Unter Business Process Simulation (BPS) versteht man die Nachahmung des Verhaltens von Geschäftsprozessen innerhalb einer virtuellen Umgebung. Die realen Prozesse werden durch ein Simulationsmodell, einen Digitalen Zwilling, abgebildet. Mithilfe dieser Simulation können Unternehmen verschiedene Szenarien testen und visualisieren, um zu sehen, wie sich Änderungen auf die Effizienz, Ressourcennutzung oder andere Leistungskennzahlen auswirken, bevor sie in der Realität umgesetzt werden.

In der Vergangenheit wurden die Simulationsmodelle der BPS manuell mithilfe von aufwändigen Prozessdokumentationen, Stoppuhren und Experteninterviews erstellt. Das Problem dabei sind die vielen subjektiven Einflüsse, die zu einer Prozessverzerrung führen. Zudem kann diese manuelle Methode keine komplexeren Prozesse erfassen, die sich in der Realität über verschiedenste Abteilungen, Systeme und Standorte hinweg abspielen.

Je realitätsnäher die Prozesssimulation ist, desto wertvoller ist sie. BPS wird daher inzwischen gerne mit der Technologie des Process Minings kombiniert, die den Ist-Zustand von Geschäftsprozessen datenbasiert und objektiv analysiert. Das Process Mining schafft so die notwendige Datengrundlage für die Geschäftsprozesssimulation.

Process Mining

Das Process Mining ist eine Technologie zur systematischen Analyse und Auswertung von Geschäftsprozessen mit dem Ziel, Verbesserungspotenziale aufzudecken und in Maßnahmen umzusetzen. Anstatt Prozessdaten manuell zu erfassen, werden sie mittels sogenannter Ereignisprotokolle (engl. event logs) aus IT-Systemen extrahiert. Die Datengrundlage ist somit objektiv und umfassend, da alle Prozesse, die durch verschiedenste Programme und Systeme laufen, einbezogen werden.

Das Process Mining ist in der Lage den Digitalen Zwilling, sprich die virtuelle Kopie der realen Geschäftsprozesse, einer Organisation zu erstellen. Durch Visualisierungen und Kennzahlen bietet Process Mining die Möglichkeit, die tatsächlichen Prozesse zu entdecken, Abweichungen von Soll- Prozessen zu erkennen und Ineffizienzen und Verschwendung zu identifizieren. Durch die Erkenntnisse dieser Analysen können zielgerichtet Verbesserungen an Prozessen vorgenommen werden, um die Effizienz zu steigern und Ressourcen einzusparen.

Was ist der Unterschied zwischen Process Mining und BPS?

Process Mining hat in der Regel eine rückwärtsgerichtete Perspektive, da historische Daten aus den IT-Systemen gezogen werden, um so die gegenwärtigen Ist-Prozesse zu verstehen. Das Ziel ist es, Ineffizienzen und Optimierungspotenziale aufzudecken.

Business Process Simulation dagegen hat eine zukunftsorientierte Perspektive, da auf Basis der Ist-Prozesse unterschiedliche Zukunftsszenarien und deren Auswirkungen simuliert werden. Das Ziel dieser „Was-wäre-wenn-Szenarien“ ist es, einfacher und sicherer Entscheidungen zu treffen.

Wie funktionieren Process Mining und BPS zusammen?

Beide Disziplinen fügen sich wie zwei Puzzleteile ineinander und ergänzen sich. Das Process Mining als Gerüst bietet die Datengrundlage und kreiert einen Digitalen Zwilling. Durch verschiedene Analysen können so Optimierungspotenziale in Geschäftsprozessen identifiziert werden. An dieser Stelle setzt Business Process Simulation an und simuliert und testet, wie sich diese möglichen Änderungen auf die Kennzahlen der Geschäftsprozesse auswirken.

Die Geschäftsprozesssimulation ergänzt das Process Mining somit um die zukunftsorientierte Perspektive, die es Unternehmen ermöglicht, verschiedene Szenarien zu modellieren, zu testen und zu validieren, die auf den durch das Process Mining ermittelten realen Erkenntnissen basieren.

Was wäre, wenn Sie die Zukunft vorhersagen könnten?

„Was wäre, wenn“ Sie wüssten, wie sich Änderungen an Prozessen durch äußere Einflüsse oder Anpassungen auf den Output auswirken? Sie wären in der Lage, proaktiv handeln und verschiedene Szenarien und Ausprägungen durchspielen zu können. Ein digitaler Assistent würde alle Kombinationen durchrechnen und Ihnen die Antwort auf Ihre „Was-wäre-wenn-Fragen“ liefern. Zu schön, um wahr zu sein? Zum Glück nicht!

In unserem Webinar am 25. Januar 2024 erfahren Sie, wie mpmX in Kombination mit der Business Process Simulation Plattform von Silico ermöglicht, Zukunftsszenarien zu modellieren und deren Auswirkungen auf Prozessmetriken vorherzusagen. Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Teilnahme! Hier gehts zur WEBINAR-ANMELDUNG.